Analecta: “It Ferments and Bubbles Over”

This stomach of mine is gone all soppy, but I’ve no time to set it in the sun:

-Note the sun going apace.

Let’s hurry along in hot haste! Come on, let’s step on it, my friend!

A certain responsibility sits untended, awaiting my attention.

Even as I do all this, it ferments and bubbles over:

It’s now (a gourd of palm) wine.

There! I thirst to drink it, my people.

Salia Koroma, Kpumbo (late 1940s, early 1950s Decca recording ).

Posted on February 5, 2010, in Analecta and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

